Elder Care does not come with a manual

My name is Sigrid Reymond and I am a laboratory professional. I recently completed my master’s in healthcare administration, but am delaying my return to the traditional workforce for the time being. I have been caring for my father whose health has declined for over a year now, starting mid-way through grad school, and will continue to do so for an extended period of time. At some point, my husband and I will move Dad into a facility that can offer advanced, 24 hour care that we cannot provide at home. But, for now, I spend my time caring for my family and household, and working to keep my career alive by a thread.

Elder care-giving does not come with a manual or training program. But, somehow, we are magically supposed to know how to perform the complex task of caring for an elderly person with any number of health and social problems ranging from dementia, dietary concerns, complex medication management, financial problems, social isolation, and incontinence. Like most people, I was not prepared for the job, but because I love my father, I took the responsibility on hoping to wing it successfully.

I started a laboratory technical writing business, www.seamedtechwriters.com, which I hope to get up and running as I enlist regular respite care for Dad. I also started this blog, https://jugglingcareerandeldercare.wordpress.com/ to help others with the task of juggling career and elder care. I certainly don’t know everything about elder care at this point, but I can pass on what I have learned. As the elderly population of the US rapidly rises, more people will be in the same boat and need to know at least some of the things I have learned in the past 13 months.

Here’s a short list of topics I plan to cover in future posts, in no particular order:

  • Resources
  • Respite Care
  • Incontinence
  • Finances
  • Housing and living arrangements
  • Medication management
  • Fitness (exercise and mental health)
  • Family
  • Career options
  • Personal belongings
  • Doctor’s appointments
  • Medical care
  • Medicare
  • Medicaid
  • Dementia and memory loss
  • Simple living and elder care (this one has been important to me because this is how we have been able to afford to help Dad)

I invite you to continue with me on my adventure in juggling career and elder care. We should learn a lot, and hopefully also have some fun along the way!

 

2 thoughts on “Elder Care does not come with a manual

  1. I am walking a similar path with my parents although they are in a retirement community in Seattle (a blessing that they decided on their own) but now mom is I memory care and I am learning something new every day. I am also plunging into a simplified wardrobe. Fun to find your blog tonight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

